It must be the food I ate on Monday... either that or it's the same insect bite that caused my sister to get the same thing before...
No matter, I've got rashes and a very bad cough.
Rashes, as in they getting red and angry, spreading through my body (hey it rhymes...), whenever it is hot and not airy. Air con on the CNY's eve did help to alleviate the rashes a bit, but it still got worse around the night.
Cough? it's been here for a week now. Only thing is that the problems got worse a bit... Wheezing? Water in lung? I dunno... it's just harder to breathe.
So I landed up at the hospital in the middle of the night, NUH to be precise. Written waiting time was expected to be 2 to 2 1/2 hours, but, lucky me (or not), I got in within 15 mins. A trainee doctor gave a diagnosis and I landed in the observation ward, having a good time with the female doctors, nurses, breathing medicine and oxygen together, and getting intravenous.
Yeah, that part didn't hurt. What hurt is that the doctor gave me two injections to my shoulder joint that left me nearly screaming in pain. Up til now, my muscles around that are still sore, aching like hell knows how bad it is...
Yep, as a result of that, I missed one more day of walking.
Today's gym day, and it was pretty rushed. Left home late, even though I know the gym was closing early. Arrived, stretched and did the machines. Didn't really do the barbell exercises this time, as I read up papers and got freaked out by the miniscule injuries that could happen, like the infamous stress fractures.
Was my squat correct? even though my spine was straight, and leaning at a near 30 degrees. Would I injure my back?
So I gave most of the usual exercises a miss, and did the others on the available machines. I don't even know how much I could carry; I just carried the load that I could get at 12 reps, and continue for 3 sets. But fatigue carries on in the end, and I could not even manage 8 standard reps in the last set. Had to swing (yeah, I know it's bad), and engage the other muscles (I know Machines are isolated exercises.)
Not good.
Worst of all, I took my weight, and compared it with the one I did last Thurday during my first gym experience.
101.80 kg. SAme old, same old.
Not good...
But I knew it would happen. Why?
I failed my first obstacle. Mum's reunion dinner... it's a killer. I think I ate a quarter of a duck (a fat one too), and a quarter of a chicken (fat one too...). Both are greasy, yet yummy. And the chicken has a special sauce to dip in, which is a conbination of golden-fried garlic, oyster sauce, light soy sauce and a LADLE OF OIL...
Couldn't really start my small meals, as cooking was limited to three times a day, and house visits were frequent. Drank a packet of lemon tea, and 3 cups of orange juice (read: soft drink), and consumed at least 3 handfuls of snacks. Curious lah...
So this is really a disappointing week. If this goes on, I shall have to reaccess my diet and workout plan, and make sure I lose two kg next week...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment